Of Vilma and Christ

    The other day I had a conversation with my classmates, while waiting for our prof that never arrived. After that, I realized that the word "Christian" has nearly lost its original meaning. Westerners say that the Philippines is the only Christian country in Asia. There’s at least one person in each classroom with Christian as part of his name. Many people say that their religion is Christian. How then do we define such a word?

    Another word came to my mind while trying to answer that question: Vilmanian. In the most extreme sense, Vilmanians, in their most fundamental state, are those who imitate, admire, are fans of, advocate, follow or even to some extent, worship their idol.
Perhaps in a similar manner, Christians are people who imitate, admire, are fans of, advocate, follow, and worship Christ. And what does Christ say to his fans?

"Come follow me, and I will make you fishers of men" -Mark 1:17

"I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing" – John 15:5

"I am the way, the truth and the life . No one comes to the Father except through me" -John 14:6

"If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself, take up his cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it." -Matthew 16:24-25
 

What is a Christian then? He/she is someone who follows Christ, his words, and teachings. He is someone who believes that Christ is who he claims to be, the perfect son of God who died to take away the sins of the world – if only men would obey him as Lord over their lives and consider him as their sole Savior from their sins.

So, are you a Christian?
Being an advocate of other things will last a lifetime
Choosing to follow Christ would determine where you spend eternity.
Choose wisely.

This entry was posted in Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of Vilma and Christ

  1. janna says:

    ibang vilma naisip ko sa title eh. yung sa scooby doo… ^_^

  2. Hazel angela says:

    ano ka, may late lola was a VIlma-nian…hehe…but come to think of it, if Christ would run for office, do you think the people would vote for him? hmm…well, you don’t have to answer that..hehe..Godbless!

Leave a Reply

