On Glorifying God and Academics

Praise God, friendster blog’s up again!

I have been wanting to blog about many things since January. My calendar, however, has “thesis mode” and “acad mode” stamped all over. Those are all on top of my regular responsibilities, namely, family budget, relationship, and God. My only other chill moments are travian in between papers, zsnes roms, and some moments with SVCFers and churchmates.

Enough with the ranting though, this article is supposed to be about glorifying God in one’s school life. It’s my last semester as a regular-load student in the university. Consequently, it’s my last chance to enter the college scholar/university scholar list, a dream I had ever since I entered UP.

Christians in the Bible were often called  “foolish” in the eyes of the world, and that they “shame the wise.” One might ask whether that “foolishness” translates into lower grades for the sake of Christ. The answer is a categorical, but specific yes.

In one sense, we were called to be Christians first before we were called to be students. Christian life and witness are given higher priority than academic standing. This does not mean, though, that we are to miss our classes for the sake of studying God’s word. It may mean though, that one may need to forego studying for an exam if an opportunity to share the gospel arises. It may mean limiting time spent on academic exploits to make time for fellowships and personal Bible study.  It definitely means avoiding cheating and dishonesty, and standing up for what you believe in, at the cost of unpopularity and possibly, failure.

Glorifying God in one’s academic life involves acknowledging and spreading the works of God in one’s academic life. It is letting the world know who God is and what He has done in your life. Whether it be a passed exam, a group report, or a bound thesis, we are to echo our dependence on the triune God.

To give glory to God is to offer each and every event and academic requirement to Him. It is to surrender our failures and mistakes, and seek comfort in Him. It is to realize that God is the sole, immovable anchor that will always be there for us. It is to worship God regardless of what happens, so that the world will know and seekHim.

In summary, this song couldn’t have said it any better:

In Christ alone will I glory
Though I could pride myself in battles won
For I’ve been blessed beyond measure
And His grace strength alone I overcome
Oh, I could stop and count successes
Like diamonds in my hand
But those trophies could not equal
To the grace by which I stand

In Christ alone
I place my trust
And find my glory
In the power of the cross
In every victory
Let it be said of me
My source of strength
My source of hope
Is Christ alone

In Christ alone will I glory
For only by His grace I am redeemed
And only His tender mercy
Could reach beyond my weakness to my need
Now I seek no greater honor
Than just to know Him more
And to count my gains, but losses
To glory of my Lord

My source of strength
My source of hope
Is Christ alone

So, are people drawing near to God because of your academic life?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

