With Great Hearing Comes Great Responsibility.

I was on my way to the Katipunan LRT station via a UP-Katipunan jeep the other day, when a group of seven students (most likely freshmen) rode the jeep. As there was nothing else to listen to aside from the rain and the traffic, my ears automatically tuned into the group’s conversations. I learned halfway through the trip that they were bound for Trinoma, yet were asking the jeepney driver to let them down at McDonald’s Katipunan.

There I was, contemplating if I was to spill the bad news that they were riding the wrong jeep, going in the opposite direction, and that they would have to take another two rides in the all-consuming rain to get to their destination (I think they were going to watch a movie, and some already had tickets). The lazy and shy introvert side got the best of me, as I shut up and watched them go down without even letting out a single word.

Twofold Reflection

I felt guilt afterwards, as I was reflecting. There I was, given a chance to help a group of strangers, yet for some reason, I did not want to become their bearer of “bad news”. Yet in so doing, I gave them a harder time. I wonder if any of them wondered why nobody told them they were lost…

As followers of Christ, we hold information that at times, may seem like bad news to most people (and that information, ironically, is called the gospel or “good news”). Perhaps we don’t want to see their reactions. They might respond in disbelief, insisting that they are going in the right direction, and curse you for meddling with their lives. They might, out of suspicion, consider you as a joker who thinks them gullible to believe such stories that seem better fitted in children’s fairytale books. Or they might just say thank you for telling them the truth… I think a one in three risk is good enough in the light of eternity.

Another unconnected reflection for today:

“The Irony: Good humanists work all their lives to improve the condition of the disadvantaged, but for what? To raise them to the level of the upper classes so that they too can experience boredom, alienation, and decadence?” –From Philip Yancey’s Soul Survior

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

