Year-end / Year-start / Launching Post

123110 1135H

Year-ender / Year-starter Post

 

It’s been a while since I last wrote a year-ender post, or any post at all…

 

Part 1: Three New Records

 

For some peculiar reason, I have been monitoring the movies I’ve watched and books I’ve read for this year. I’ve also monitored all of my expenses to the cent since end of May this year. Apparently, these three things represent three new personal records.

 

I’ve watched the most number of movies in the big screen this year (my previous annual average was 2 movies):

  1. I Miss You Like Crazy
  2. Toy Story 3
  3. The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
  4. Inception
  5. The Expendables
  6. ‘Til My Heartaches End
  7. RPG Metanoia

 

I’ve Read the most number of books, too:

 

  1. Man’s Search for Meaning, Victor Frankel
  2. The Radical Cross, AW Tozer
  3. The Pursuit of God, AW Tozer
  4. Science, Sense, and Nonsense, Joe Schwarz
  5. Omnivore’s Dilemma, Michael Pollan
  6. The Savior’s Touch, Charles Stanley
  7. Going Public With Your Faith, Carr Peel and Lartimore
  8. The Five Love Languages. Gary Chapman
  9. Rebel With a Cause, Franklin Graham
  10. The Last Christian Generation, Josh McDowell
  11. Wild at Heart, John Eldredge
  12. 101 Questions to ask Before You Get Engaged, H. Norman Wright
  13. The Road Less Traveled, M.Scott Peck
  14. Don’t Waste Your Life, John Piper
  15. The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People, Stephen Covey
  16. Becomig a Contagious Christian, Bill Hybels and Mark Mittelberg

 

Unfinished Books:

 

  1. Principalities and Powers
  2. Kitchen Confidential, Anthony Bourdain

 

And yes, it should come as no surprise that I’ve earned and spent the most cash in my first year as a tax-paying employee.

 

Category % of total expenses
Food 14.19
Transportation 6.48
Laundry 0.89
Cellphone Load 1.49
Rent, Consumables, Snacks, Internet 9.47
Tithes, Offerings, Ministry Support 13.01
QC house-related 2.05
Clothes, Gadgets, Self-Actualization, Entertainment 11.09
Gifts and Treats to others 4.64
Reimbursable 1.67
Savings and Insurance 35.00

 

The disproportionate amount of savings and insurance can be partially explained by the fact that I am kuripot, and also because of the year-end bonuses that I decided not to spend.

 

Part 2: Word of the Year

God has been teaching me time and again about the importance of discipline.

The greatest problem with discipline is sustainability. Older policemen and military men get beer bellies from neglecting their regimen of strict physical activities. Models, action starts and sexy stars all too soon lose the near perfect figures that they used to maintain. Sadly, the same is oftentimes true of our spiritual life. One of the most common causes of this ‘negligence’ is simple idleness. In a war, we are always on our toes. In a competition, we strive to do everything to win. In times of peace and relaxation, however, we tend to slack off, too much at times, even.

 

In Hebrews 12:6, the word discipline is used as a verb:

 

“…the Lord disciplines the one he loves”

 

the Greek word used here is paideuo, which means to train up a child, that is, educate, or (by implication) discipline (by punishment): – chasten (-ise), instruct, learn, teach (Strong’s Dictionary).

 

In Luke 14:26, the word disciple is used as an adjective:

 

“If anyone comes to me and does not hate father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters—yes, even their own life—such a person cannot be my disciple.

 

The Greek word used here is mathetes, which means learner or pupil.

 

A pupil is no better that the uneducated person unless he puts all that he has learned into practice. I have started to combat idleness by setting up loose schedules of what I should be doing with my free time, especially during 3-day breaks like this one (December 31-January 2).

 

Part 3: Milestones and Signposts

I have / I am…

  • finally graduated by the grace of God
  • finally joined the church choir
  • single again
  • been involved in the church’s young professionals ministry
  • witnessed a friend acknowledge God and Christ
  • been living semi independently in Laguna

 

Well, there are still a lot of things to change and learn along the way, like lessening expenses to be able to give more.

 

There’s still a lot to do with regards to my self-discipline issues. Avoiding idleness is just a start.

 

There are still a lot of questions regarding the future.

How long should I stay in my current workplace? What should be my driving force in determining my career path? How about God’s leading?

 

Being single has many benefits, but the loneliness factor is lurking still. I trust that in the fullness of time, God will reveal the plan he has.

 

Finally, there’s still a lot to know about Christ Jesus our Lord:

 

“I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and   participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.”

–Philippians 3:10-11

 

To God be all glory for 2010.

 

See, it’s not bad to reflect on your life once in a while. Try it, while you have the time.

 

A Happy New Year to All!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Year-end / Year-start / Launching Post

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. rg.guillermo says:

    Wow. This is a great idea for a first post. I am reminded to recount the Lord’s goodness. Also, that 35% savings/insurance funds is enviable. I will try to surpass that this year. 🙂

  3. His beloved says:

    did you mean noun instead of adjective? 🙂

    loneliness has its cure. =p

    great blog starter by the way! ^_^

Leave a Reply

