Entertaining Angels

Source: superstock.com

“Keep on loving one another as brothers and sisters. Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.” – Hebrews 13:1-2

I think I may have encountered and angel early on in my college years. I was a college freshman, and obviously under-aged. Following my disobediently curious heart, I decided to watch an R-rated art film on the big screen, alone, of course.

I chose a mall that was relatively far away, so that no one would recognize me. Upon getting off the jeep in front of the mall, a little girl in a light-colored dress approached me. She needed help in crossing the wide expanse of level concrete – otherwise known as a street. She also asked me where I was going, or what I was going to do. Of course, I did not tell her about my true intentions. But I did agree to help her cross the street.

Upon reaching the other side, I took a quick glance at the mall, my thoughts drifting for a few seconds at the conscience-piercing question from the little girl. As I looked back, the girl was no longer in sight. Not even a sprinter could run away that fast, especially in an open parking lot. I froze for a moment as I tried to decipher what just took place, but the call of curiosity drowned out everything.

Perhaps it was God’s way of giving me a final warning, a last chance to rethink my plans and turn the other way around. But I did not. I went on, took the path of momentary pleasure at the cost of disappointing my Lord. I went home with a mixed feeling of guilt and satisfaction. The satisfaction wore away, but the guilt remained for a long time.

We can never run away from God:

7Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.

-Psalm 31:7-12

Are you trying to run away from God? That is the worst direction to take. Don’t wait for an angel to ask for your help in crossing the street…

This entry was posted in Flashbacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

