Jumpstart: At the Receiving End of Undeserved Favor

I will not sleep until this post is done.

“Thank you Lord”

That was all I could think of while driving home earlier. It was a very long day for me, having driven back and forth from Pampanga.  I decided to cap the day by joining my churchmates for a movie in the local mall (Trinoma).

As we exited the mall to the rooftop parking lot, I saw the white Hilander’s dim headlights from afar. It was almost 10pm. I parked the car five hours prior. Conclusion: the car probably will not start. True enough, it didn’t. I ran towards the closest guard to ask for help in trying to push (tulak) the car, as my two companions might not be able to push the vehicle with such momentum (for an AUV, the Hilander is rather heavy).

Seemingly out of nowhere, a car parked beside us, and out came a man with his wife and son. They, without hesitation, offered to jumpstart the vehicle, immediately bringing out their gigantic toolbox, which contained the jumper cables. The man, sir Wilson, with the assistance of his son and the guard, immediately went to work. After a bit more than 10 minutes and three trials at ignition, the vehicle finally revved up.

In the course of our conversations, we learned that they were fellow brothers and sisters in Christ. What a coincidence! Driving home, I started feeling an overwhelming sense of gratitude amidst unworthiness stemming from the act of kindness which I have just been a recipient of.

Decided to take a photo of sir Wilson (vehicles on the background). It's not everyday people go out of their way to help total strangers

Decided to take a photo of sir Wilson (vehicles on the background). It’s not everyday people go out of their way to help total strangers

As I was reflecting upon what occurred, I realized the following things:

  • I still feel somewhat uncomfortable asking others for help. It is often a humbling task for me.
  • I also don’t like the feeling of helplessness.
  • “Quality time” and “acts of service” are still my primary love languages. Perhaps that is why I felt overwhelmed. I am seldom on the receiving end of both, especially in terms of acts of service. What they have done has therefore touched me deeply. It was a tangible manifestation of God’s love.
  • Speaking of acts of service, Jesus has already done the ultimate act:
    • Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. -John 15:13

  • To have total strangers, who are in no way obligated to help, go out of their way and  volunteer their services, spending a total of one man-hour (20 mins x 3 individuals), and not ask anything in return – no words can express my thanks.
  • Whether it be God’s offer of salvation or help in our everyday problems, I think it’s the same – God voluntarily offers something to us. All we need to do is accept what He is giving us.
  • Having been on the receiving end of this act of kindness, I can just wonder what other feel when we help them out in practical ways or share God’s Good News.

I would like to end this post with exhortations from the word of God:

In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. -Matthew 5:16

And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. 10 So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, and especially to those who are of the household of faith. – Galatians 6:9-10

This entry was posted in Character Matters, Current Affairs, Personal Matters and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jumpstart: At the Receiving End of Undeserved Favor

  1. ara says:

    Happy for you and your experience! Ganyan ang tigasunod kay Kristo. (or is that tagasunod ni Cristo? Oh, well).

  2. Pingback: 7 Life lessons from an epic back-to-back century ride (Written December 28, 2015). | eternalmatters

Leave a Reply

